Because Context

Article: Ok so this one’s not an article; it’s an anecdote. Feel free to skip ahead to stuff real writers put out.

Today I learned something. Life IS like a box of chocolates. If someone were to map my time in a grocery store what he/she would see is a zig zag between the fruits and veggies, repeat visits to snack aisles as I came back empty handed every time and a bee line to the known and trusted in the meat & fish sections. What would undoubtedly be the spot where I spend the most time however, is the chocolate aisle. The new varieties tease me with intrigue and a promise of surprise while the old favourites feign comfort and the guarantee of enjoyment. I know. It’s hard. Today I went with the known. My coworkers usually offer sweets during lunchtime, so I thought it would be a nice gesture to do the same. My options included stacks on stacks of Sri Lankan milk chocolate bars– nuts, fruit, apple (?), etc — and then some more familiar options — Ferrero, Lindt, etc. I decided to go for one of my own favourites since I assumed my coworkers were likely to try the Sri Lankan varieties more regularly, so this would be something new (and “better” according to the international standard of exorbitantly-more-expensive). Pleased with myself, I offered the delightful little Lindors to my coworkers. Once you bite into the ganache world of these fabulous little chocolate planets, they melt in your mouth for 5 seconds of bliss. In this context however… disaster ensued. Now Sri Lanka is hot. That’s undeniable. This means that the smooth filling had turned into chocolate lava, unleashing  fury from its milk-coated prison, seeking vengeance with one coworker’s white dress and another’s USB stick. It took us 20 minutes to clean up the sugary Pompei scene. While hilarious, this incident served as a bit of a metaphor (albeit on the far reaching side) for me. Context-specificity matters– what leads to satisfaction in one place can stain another. Or you know… keep Lindors in a fridge.

Forrest-Gump-

Leave a comment